top of page

Creative Spell I never considered

So when designing Invoke I had creative thinkers in mind. The idea was to create a car mechanic that not only allowed creative thinking but would reward it. I often try to avoid using the phrase "programming" because it gives the impression that the game is more complex than it really is. But it's the most accurate single works description.

I got a chance to play Invoked at work the other day when I was on break. The other player had known of the project but had never played. I started off by showing him some of the basic mechanics such as... * All spells must have a "Target" * How to move objects left and right * No card other than creatures and objects can be played by themselves When teaching a game, I always start with more of a helpful approach vs a competition. We both agreed to show our hand so I could explain how the mechanics work as well suggestions of possible moves. One of the moves is known as "napalm fireball" (Invoke + fire + sustain) basically a spell that burns with fire for two turns. (Fire + Invokes = basic fire spell..The sustain card adds one turn to the duration) this is a nasty combination.. Removing on of my life gems every turn for two turns. It's a basic combination. But that was not what surprised me. On his next turn, he said "can I use this Target sustained spell & +1 and target the napalm,place the +1 on the sustained making it last an extra turn? " I had to think... Umma... Err YES!!!

How cool. Someone was able to present a spell that I never considered. After the game was over I took some time to really think about the combo he played to make sure that It would not break the mechanics of the game. Over some careful thinking and bringing up the situation to my wife we came up with the decision that combo is not only a legal move but will now be known as "Dan's forever fire"

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page